Franklin County Public Health

Board of Health
The Public Health Department is governed by the Franklin County Board of Health. Members of the Board of Health are nominated and these nominations are submitted to the Board of Supervisors who then appoint the members of the Board of Health. Meetings are held the 3rd Tuesday of every month at 5:30 p.m. at the Franklin County Public Heatlh Office, located at 1600 Central Ave. E in Hampton.

Current Board of Health

  • Russell Wood, Chairman
  • Nancy Retz, Secretary
  • Dr. Keith Hanson
  • Susan Wulf
  • Laurie DeGroot

The duty of the Board of Health is set out in Iowa Code Section 137.7.

Meeting Minutes
The meeting minutes for the Franklin County Board of Health public meetings are listed below in .pdf  format.









The agency does not discriminate against any person because of race, creed, color, religion, sex, national origin, sexual preference, handicap, or age in the admission, access to, in the operation of, or employment for its services, programs, and activities. All clients, regardless of disease or disability, will be evaluated in accordance with admission criteria.

Public Health
Contact Information

1600 Central Ave. East
Hampton, Iowa 50441
Location Map

Phone: 641-456-5820
Fax: 641-456-5834

Office Hours:
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday - Friday

Nurse on Call
24 hours / 7 days a week

Administrator/Home Care
RN/Tuberculosis Nurse
Christa Wiarda, RN

Assistant Administrator
Jenni Swart, RN

Linda Hamman, RN
Jeanne Wogen, RN
Ashley Claussen, RN
Ashley Roberts, RN
Jennifer Marsh, RN
Marilyn Knoll
Dee Carr
Veronica Guerrero
Heather Holm
Dan Tilkes, Sanitarian