Franklin County Sheriff's Office

The Franklin County Sheriff and Sheriff's Deputies are the police force for residents of the unincorporated areas of the county, and by contract, provide law enforcement for the cities of Alexander, Coulter, Dows, Geneva, Hansell, Latimer, and Popejoy. The Sheriff's Office handles all routine and emergency calls for these areas, and regularly patrols all areas of the county. The office of Sheriff is an elected office.

Mission Statement

The general duties of the sheriff include (but are not limited to):

  • Investigations
  • Law enforcement services
  • Execute and return all writs and other legal processes issued to the sheriff by legal authority
  • Have charge of the county jail and custody of the prisoners committed to the jail
  • See other duties in Chapter 331 Code of Iowa

Please click on the links below to learn more about the services and duties of the Sheriff's Office.

Sheriff's Office
Contact Information

24-Hour Number: 641-456-2731
Admin. Number: 641-456-6035
Fax: 641-456-2216

Emergency Number: 911

Law Enforcement Center
105 5th St. SW
PO Box 57
Hampton, Iowa 50441

Administrative Office Hours:
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday - Friday


Chief Deputy

Administrative Staff

Adam Blau
Aaron Dodd
Rick Rieken
Josh Einspahr
Nate Sahr