Franklin County Veterans Affairs Commission
Serving Those Who Served

The Franklin County Veterans Affairs Commission is a member of the Iowa County Commissions of Veterans Affairs. The Commissioners and Executive Director are certified to handle veterans' issues. Two comprehensive programs for military veterans are currently offered:

1. Veterans Relief Programs
The Franklin County Veterans Relief Program is funded by the County to provide assistance to resident veterans with emergency basic needs. These basic needs include:

  • Rent
  • Food
  • Utilities
  • Medical
  • Burial
  • Special Needs

To be eligible for this program, you must meed the following requirements:

  • Be a veteran with an honorable discharge.
  • Be a resident of Franklin County.
  • Meet certain income guidelines.
  • Register for work (unless disabled) and participate in promise jobs and JTPA.
  • Have emergency basic needs that cannot be met by other means.

2. Veterans Services Programs
The Franklin County Veterans Service Program provides assistance to all veterans, and their dependents, in applying for federal benefits, and other related matters, concerning the federal government. These include:

  • Application assistance for
    • Compensation for Service-Connected Disability
    • Non-Service Connected Disability Pension
    • DIC Benefits
    • Certificates of Eligibility for Home Loans
    • Aid and Attendance for Nursing Home and Housebound Veterans
    • Overpayments
    • Appeals of Unfavorable VA Rulings
    • Eligibility Verification Reports (EVR)
    • Application for Iowa Veterans Home
  • Obtaining military records and awards.
  • Distributing grave markers and flag holders from Franklin County
  • Networking to Veterans Hospitals
  • Networking to other Department of Veterans Affairs facilities and agencies.

Veterans Affairs Commission

  • Thomas Berry - Director (1st appointed on June 2009)
  • El Dean Madetzke (1st appointed 6/30/1989) term expires 6/30/2017
  • Ronald Schulz (1st appointed 10/25/2010) term expires 6/30/2019
  • Amy Eberling (1st appointed 6/25/2012) term expires 6/30/2018

Veterans Affairs
Contact Information

Franklin County Courthouse
12 - 1st Ave. NW
PO Box 432
Hampton, Iowa 50441

Phone: 641-456-5670
Fax: 641-456-2725

Office Hours:
8:00am - 12:00pm
Monday - Friday

Executive Director