This official government website of Franklin County provides information about your local county government
and the services we  provide. Please visit each department's web page for specific contact information, location, and hours of operation.

.: Quick Links    

Where do I find....?
Closed Roads & Bridges
Real Estate/GIS Website
HIPAA Privacy Policy

Birth/Death/Marriage Records
Board Agenda & Minutes
County Code of Ordinances
General County Maps
Iowa Land Records Online
Passport Information & Application
Register to Vote
Sheriff's Foreclosure Sales
Tax Payment Online
Vehicle Renewal Online
Zoning Map Atlas - Unofficial

Embargoed Bridges Map


.: Forms

Board Appointment Application
Check Non-Payment Form
Driver License Forms
Election Forms
Fireworks Permit Application 
Motor Vehicle Forms
Property Tax Forms

.: News & Events

Boards/Commission Applications
The Franklin County Supervisors are now taking applications for appointments that will be made in July 2014. The Supervisors will be considering appointments to the:

  • Board of Adjustment (1)
  • Planning and Zoning Commission (2)
  • Veteran's Affairs Commission (1)

Download a Board/Commission Application Form (.pdf) to apply for a position on these boards, which are described on the Board/Commission Descriptions (.pdf) document. All applications should be received by the Auditor's Office or the Board of Supervisors by Friday, June 20, 2014. Any questions can be directed to the Auditor's Office at 641-456-5622. View more information...

Advanced Spotter Training Webinar
An "advanced" spotter training webinar will be offered on May 7, 2014 at 7 PM. The advanced class is intended for those who wish to do mobile spotting and desire a deeper understanding of meso-scale and storm scale meteorology as it relates to storm spotting. Spotters interested in attending this class should have attended a regular spotter class either 'in-person" or webinar based. View more information....

Emergency Management Volunteer Informational Meeting
Franklin County Emergency Management will be hosting a 2-hour Volunteer Informational meeting May 12, 2014 from 1pm -3pm at the Franklin County Law Enforcement Center. This will be in cooperation with American Red Cross. Discussion will focus on sheltering throughout the county but we will also discuss other volunteer opportunities within Emergency Management and Red Cross. Refreshments will be served.

Primary Election Candidates Set
The candidates have been set for the Primary Election to be held on June 3, 2014. The deadline to have your name on the primary election ballot was March 26th. All candidates running for all the open county positions are Republican.

Supervisor District #1: Michael Nolte (Incumbent)
Supervisor District #2: Jerry L. Plagge (Incumbent) and Gary H. McVicker
Treasurer: Chad Murray (Incumbent) and Cindy R. Dirksen
Recorder: Toni Wilkinson (Incumbent)
Attorney: Brent J. Symens

Code Red Notification System
Franklin County has a Code Red Mass Notification System that funded by E911. This system is used to contact residents about severe weather warnings, evacuations, missing persons, and other emergencies. You have to sign up for it in order to receive notifications to your home or mobile phone. Franklin County Emergency Management encourages all citizens to visit the CodeRED website and sign up for this service.  

Check out our Calendar of Events and visit our News section!